SEEHN Health Workforce Observatory

The Regional Health Development Center (South-eastern Europe Observatory) on Human Resources for Health is an initiative of the SEE Health Network and includes national institutions in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Israel, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Republic of Macedonia, Romania and Serbia. The SEEHN Health Workforce Observatory is hosted by the National Center on Health Management in Chisinau, Republic of Moldova, and receives technical support and guidance by the WHO Regional Office for Europe Human Resources for Health Program.

EU Joint Action on Health Workforce Planning

Negotiations are under way for the Republic of Moldova to become a collaborative partner to the EU Joint Action on Health Workforce Planning The Republic of Moldova will be represented by the National Center of Health Management (hosting the SEE sub-regional Observatory on HRH).
JA-HWF Description*:According to an estimate, Europe expects a shortage of 1.000.000 health workers by 2020.  Demand, need and supply of the health workforce (HWF) are influenced by multiple factors like ageing population, ageing workforce, rising care use and rising costs in a context of budget constraints. The time lag between decisions and change can belong. New skills may need new schools, trainers, curricula. The HWF is more mobile and this challenges the self-sufficiency of countries. Hence HWF planning is crucial.There is a great variety in HWF planning methods across MSs. There is no golden standard. Sharing and exchanging practices will support MSs capacity.

The general objective of this action is a platform for collaboration and exchange between MSs to prepare the future of the HWF. This will support MSs and Europe in their capacity to take effective and sustainable measures.

Associated partners representing 18 countries: Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and the United Kingdom.
There are collaborative partners representing 9 countries: Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Serbia and Sweden. 
Umbrella organizations of health professions and structures are partner.

Methods and means: The Joint Action (JA) will pilot a platform of collaboration and partnership. The governance structure, procedures of communication, collaboration and decision making, the outputs and outcomes of the JA represent this pilot.

* Source: accessed on 20 March 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment